Things that cause Adoptive Parents undue concern and a Puzzle update!

If you are looking for information about our fundraiser, click HERE. We’re giving away our first gift on Saturday, March 9, 2013.

I’m back! Today I thought I would write down some more of my thoughts on our dossier.  I’m more than ready to be done with this thing! I would just mail it in, except it has to be perfect, and by perfect we’re talking all our T’s crossed and i’s dotted kind of perfect.

FUll Size-4

For example, this stamp, right here on our apostilled marriage certificate caused me no end of anxiety. See how it’s slightly overlapped on the actual certificate itself? I thought I was going to have to have it redone which takes weeks and more money. I ended up having a video skype with our agency about it and a couple of other things and it turned out it was ok. But really, the dossier is a big fat deal deal (in quadruplicate- although right now I’m only assembling two of them. I already did a 3rd, and the 4th, I’m not messing with much because it’s just for us.)

Yesterday I sat at the table, and stared at our dossier and realized that this was our whole life in paperwork. All summed up into a giant stamped, notarized and sealed stack of paper. If I had a less positive outlook on my life I’d be tempted to be slightly discouraged. We actually sound a little boring: IT Consultant Dad, Stay at Home mom. There’s not a lot of room to show all the fun stuff about us. But that’s who we are on the most basic level, and that’s ok. And we get to give a child a chance to have favorites, to have a future, and to be loved. I already love that kid, and this dossier proves it. In the future, when he tells me I don’t really love him, I’ll pull that 4th dossier out and tell him about how it took 4 months to get Alex’s police clearance, or about how I almost tossed my cookies when I saw the apostille stamp on our marriage certificate and the fear that that one stamp could delay him coming to us. Doing enormous amounts of paperwork is evidence of a love I have for a child whose face I haven’t seen yet.

So…. what’s a Dossier? Here’s your adoption nitty gritty for the day:

The dossier is a pile of documents that tells a foreign government all about you. It contains your homestudy, letters of reference, pictures of your house and your family, your medical histories, criminal records or letters that say you don’t have one, and birth and marriage certificates and this paper from the INS that gives us approval to adopt an orphan.  Our dossier is about 1 inch think. That’s better than the stuff we sent to the INS for our initial approval. That was 2 inches thick, and almost didn’t fit into the envelope. But I digress. The Dossier is the last step in the giant long process of getting paperwork to Poland. Once your dossier is off, you can sit back and wait to see that little face show up (and apply for adoption grants. But that’s a different story)

Anyways, our agency will take our inch thick stack of paper and send it to Poland, where it will be translated into Polish, and forwarded onto the government office where they pore over your life and then pore over all the kids available for adoption and suggest one for you.  It seems sort of wrong somehow that an intensely emotional event like that can be summed up in 1-2 sentences.

Puzzle update:

FUll Size-3

We got this in the mail today. We’re floored. Between donations from last night and this today, a total of 89  94 (alex just called.) puzzle pieces are sponsored! We’re so thankful for everyone’s prayers and support! I get to put names on 50 puzzle pieces today! Hooray!

One comment

  1. > “In the future, when he tells me I don’t really love him, I’ll pull that 4th dossier out and tell him about how it took 4 months to get Alex’s police clearance, or about how I almost tossed my cookies when I saw the apostille stamp on our marriage certificate and the fear that that one stamp could delay him coming to us.”

    Do you guys know you are adopting a boy at this point? Or is it all still TBD?


Leave a Reply

