Letters to my Children

Raleigh DUrham Adoption

Lev Struts his stuff in Bar Harbor

Dear Lev,

As I’m writing this, it’s 9:30 AM and you are still in bed. We came home from Maine last night, where you basically lived in the woods for a week hiking and throwing rocks, and running around hugging trees and picking up sticks, and attempting to make a Cat do what you tell it to. You came inside only to eat 4 bites of food or to go to bed (or watch TV on the afternoon it rained.) You are my adventurous child. You are also very kind and helpful. When we went to the beach, you befriended a little boy and played so nicely with him. You help clean up cheerfully, and give tons of spontaneous hugs and kisses. My life and Pop’s life is infinitely richer for having you in it. I love you so much that I miss you when you go to bed.

All your huge social strides give me great encouragement that you will be an awesome brother. You’ll show your new sibling how to be an awesome Starchenko, and to be his friend when he needs one, and to encourage her when she’s down. I know that not every moment will be cheery and rosy, but they will all be great moments because they are ours, given to us by God.

In our last few month together as just Mama and Lev, I hope that we can forge memories that will last us a lifetime- playing, reading, traveling, and learning more about the Lord. This is a very special time for us, pal, all these days where we do everything together from wash windows to go to the gym to watching Curious George. Soon it will be three of us doing it together, and I hope that you’ll be as happy about it as I am.

Love,

Mom

For my second child,

My first letter to you is always the easiest and hardest to write. It’s easy because I can already tell you lots of things, but it’s hard because I haven’t met you yet. Does that make it bittersweet? I don’t know. I guess it doesn’t matter.

We really can’t wait for you to join our family. You are highly anticipated, and already loved. People ask about you constantly, and we’re looking forward to the day when we can show them a picture of you and say, “this is our new child!”

You are a true gift to us, and we hope that your life with us is filled with fun and laughter, and love and learning to really know God and learn to love him. Lev is very excited about you. He can’t wait to show how to be a Starchenko.

Love,

Mom

One comment

  1. Pingback: It’s really been a while since I posted « My Blog


Leave a Reply

