Quick updates:

In the mail today, we got Violets birth certificate and a bunch of other paperwork I don’t understand. I read it. I appreciated it. I decided not to worry about it and just follow the instructions.  But we also got a thin envelope from the Show Hope foundation. I assumed this was a rejection because that’s what it meant when I was applying to college and graduate school. Thin envelopes are never good news. So I opened it on the driveway, next to the garbage can, so I could just toss it after I read the rejection letter and continue living my life.

But it wasn’t a rejection. We got a grant! A huge one- $5000! I just couldn’t believe it. I still can’t believe it.

It’s really a lot for me to absorb. Alex took it better than me. He was really thankful and very excited. I have a headache from all the emotion. I mean, the Show Hope application is no joke. It took me 2 weeks to put that beast together, to write the essay and get all the info I needed together. after the immense amounts of thankfulness I feel, I feel kinda vindicated. I conquered the beast!

I’m very thankful. But it’s hard to form words from emotions that I can’t really define yet. I think that’s just going to be part of my 2014. I think Verklempt is the word I’m looking for tonight. Choked with emotion that I can’t express and that at this moment I’m not going to try to. I’m just going to let it be and rejoice that the Lord, who always provides, has been doing it in huge visible ways lately.

A basic FAQ from the last 12 hours, made up of questions people have asked me:

1. Are you still doing the both hands project? 

Yes! See question #2. Also get in touch with me if you’d like to be on our team!

2. So do you have anything left to come up with? 

Yes. About $10,000. That’s why we’re still doing the both hands project. And I’m still looking for a widow. Happily, most of the widows I’ve learned about have families who care well for them and help them with their house. But I know that there’s someone out there we can help and love. So I’m still looking.

3. So do you just get this huge check in the mail?

Nope. Show Hope sends the funds to our agency. I prefer it that way, in the end. I don’t have to deal with a check, or go to the bank. It just goes where it needs to. I’m very thankful for that. I don’t need something else to keep track of because remember- My brain no longer works.

 

SO that’s it. There’s not pithy way to end this post. I’ll just say, “Hooray! We got a grant! The Lord provides!”

 

Leave a Reply

