Absentia

 

 

Disclaimer: There’s a lot of waiting parents in our program who read this blog, as well as people thinking about adopting from Poland who are looking for info. My experience and their experience will differ very much and no adoption is the same. So from here on out as I write openly and earnestly about our experience, this “disclaimer” is going to appear at the top of my posts. Our crazy long sanctifying wait is not due to anything anyone at our agency, the facilitator, or our family has done. It just is. There’s nothing I can do about it, and it’s all our of our hands at this point. I’m doing my best to make the best of it. This is adoption, people. It is what it is. Thanks for staying calm with us

 

malvina's birthday card-1

 

Sometime in the last week, Violet had a birthday. Please understand that I have to be vague and that I can’t say when exactly it was, just that is was.  I’m not entirely happy we weren’t there with her, and I wish had been a little bit more forward thinking and sent a gift to the orphanage for her. But sending stuff overseas is sketchy at best, becuase it’s hard to know when and if something will arrive, so I refrained, deciding instead to bring all her christmas presents and birthday presents with us when we come. It’ll be like a belated holiday/birthday celebration.

In the mean time, my parents sent Violet a birthday card. I didn’t want to leave it sitting in the envelope, so I opened it to find this super cute bear card. Now its sitting on the mantle, in quiet celebration of many things: life, love, endurance, hope and the days to come. One day, all this waiting will come to an end, and we’ll all be together. It’s coming!

 

Leave a Reply

